View Thread

Desmond
Samuel Griffiths Samuel Griffiths 0%[0 Votes]
Total Votes : 0
 Print Thread
Samuel Griffiths Commanding Officer Desmond 1871
broganite
I am new to COY and I'm researching Samuel Griffiths who was listed in the 1871 census as the Officer in Command of the Desmond. As I am a newbie to this , could someone point me in the right direction to see how I can find out more about Samuel or the ship Desmond.

crimea1854
Hi, and welcome to the Forum.

I could be wrong, but I think this is your man. To confirm if I'm right I'm afraid you will have to risk £3.36.

http://discovery....i=D6640739

Martin

broganite
Martin you're a star !!!
It's definately him as I have a previous census record of him with the Hector.
By the way ...he's my G.G.G.GrandFather, and I only recently "discovered" him.
So how did you search him ? and am I able to try and locate any other registered entries ?

crimea1854
I'm pleased we have the right man.

Now you are going to bear with me on a little bit of a journey into the unknown. The record you have will only cover his service from 1873, so most of his service will be missing. If in the top left hand corner of his record there is a CS number this will provide details of his previous record - if one exists!

Now for the unknown. I did find a reference to the appointment of a Samuel Griffiths to the Seamew, which was a tender to the CG Ship Achilles. ADM 175/26 only includes details of the senior men serving on CG Tenders, and can be downloaded for free from the National Archives. A check of this document showed that a Samuel Griffiths was appointed to Seamew as 2nd Mate on 12 Jan 1867, from the Tender Adelaide, where he was serving as Chief Quarter Master. His subsequent promotion and transfer to Desmond would be the next logical step.

Using the same record I was able to trace his career back to 1857.

9 Dec 1862 appointed Ch Qtr Mr. on Adelaide from Victoria (ADM 175/26 pdf 8)