View Thread

Print Thread
Chief Boatman Minards and Ross
Minard
Hi I'm a Newbie looking for help. I'm looking for information on Robert McKibben and his time in the Coast Guard. According to his RN Service Record he was CH Boatman between 1 Jan 1873 and 24 Nov 1883, when he was pensioned off. The Record shows Valiant (CG) Minards Chf Btmn in charge TM ( 1 Apr 1876- 24 Nov 1883):at the bottom of the page there is also: Valiant Minards: Valiant Ross (1 Jan 73- 27 Nov 74) Ch Btmn TM: Ditto (28 Nov 74- 5 Jan 75) Ch Btmn in charge: Ditto Minard (6 Jan 75 - 31 Mar 76) Ch Btmn in charge.
As I said, any info on Robert and/ or the Stations would be most welcome.
Thanks

crimea1854
Hi, and welcome to the Forum.

I am guessing, and forgive me if I’m wrong, but I suspect you have downloaded Robert McKibbens RN service record from the National Archives website. This particular series of documents (ADM 188) only starts in 1873, although I have noticed that the earlier series (ADM 139) is gradually being added to the online documents. Since Robert was pensioned in 1883 he must have had at least ten years earlier RN service prior to 1873 to qualify for a pension.

If you are lucky and he signed up for Continuous Service, in the top left hand corner of his 1873 service record there should be a date and a CS number. From this it would be possible to order his earlier record. These records were in three series and are identified by no suffix, or the suffixes ‘A’ & ‘B’ e.g. 34412, 34412A and 34412B. If this number is present it is important to use these suffixes when researching further.

However, if there is no number present it will involve a trip to the NA at Kew and a search of Valiant’s Ships Record Books (ADM 175/54 & 55) to see if these have any additional information. I have looked at the NA’s online catalogue, but unfortunately there does not appear to be a Description Book for Valiant during this period, because this would have provided details of previous service.